Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Throughout the world, scandals have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Many people think they are beneficial since they concentrate our attention on issues than any other progressives could do. In my opinion, ideals and actions of speakers or reformers would be perennial and affect many generations.

Martin Luther King Jr. is often considered one of the greatest social reformers in the United States history. At the time when racial discrimination was prevalent, Dr. Martin Luther King, a Georgia pastor, made a memorable speech “I have a dream” that encouraged millions of people follow his ideology and continued fighting for weaker individuals. He sacrificed his life, stepped out and stood up for African American, leading Civil Right Movement that help black people had civil rights equal to white individuals in the United States. Dr. Martin Luther King’s legacy has been long recognized in the society and that has changed the lives of African American.

Alice Paul was another progressive that women of the United States view favorably due to her incredible achievement, the 19th amendment. In the beginning of the twentieth century, women’s right to vote was not acceptable in all of the states. Alice Paul, a vocal leader of the twentieth century Women’s Suffrage Movement, advocate for and lead to lobby Congress for a constitutional amendment. Alice Paul and other women stood at the gate of the White House with such sign as, “Mr. President, how long must women wait for liberty?” Paul was sentenced to jail and was even threatened to send to asylum. By 1918, President Woodrow Wilson announced his support for suffrage and it took two more years for the Senate, House and required 36 states to approve the amendment. This accomplishment helped American Women won full voting rights.

In conclusion, it is true that progressives’ acts on problems are more effective than what scandals could do. The historical examples of Dr. Martin Luther King and Alice Paul bear this out. Their actions paved the way for the later generation.