Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Throughout the world, national financial assistance programs have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. Although many people believe that governments have to provide their major cities the amount of money they need so that they could develop well, the issue as to whether those cities are the places where the nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated or not remains controversial. As far as I’m concerned, it is true that authorities must allocate adequate budget to their major cities to grow but we should carefully consider the point of view that nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated in cities.

First, major cities normally have a huge number of citizens, which leads to increasing demands for jobs, food and beverage, shopping and leisure. Therefore, corporates, high-end restaurants, shopping malls and entertainment centers are concentrated in metropolises. Suppose, for example, San Francisco is home to all sorts of corporate giants like Facebook and Apple. As a result, those cities usually contribute significantly to the national economy, especially in terms of the production and consumption of goods and services. If the government guarantees financial support, those cities could keep the current rate of growth and development and attract more people and companies.

Second, when it comes to major cities, one must notice a remarkable attribute of those places is diversity due to their numerous population. This might lead to the considerable differences in culture. To illustrate, when visiting New York or San Francisco, people could see many groups of citizens such as White, Black, Asian or Hispanic united or divided by ethnicity or religion. These are where they might hear hundreds of different languages, walking on the street. Moreover, each group has its own traditions, lifestyles and taste of foods. For instance, Vietnamese Americans in Little Saigon usually celebrate Lunar New Year besides Christian New Year. There is no doubt that the nation’s cultural traditions are difficult to be preserved and generated in major cities.

Finally, contrary to major cities, small towns and villages tend towards homogeneity, and their residents are little exposure to racial or ethnic diversity. As a result, individuals in those remote areas primarily keep traditions from previous generations and normally take part in traditional festivals. Additionally, cultural practices are more pristine in rural areas. For example, in Pennsylvania, citizens celebrate GroundHog day every year to predict the end of the winter. These unique celebrations might be a notable element to attract tourists from other regions, especially from urban communities. This might positively affect income and boost economic growth of those areas. Authorities and legislators should consider this aspect to help people in the countryside continue to preserve and generate nation’s cultural traditions.

In conclusion, taking all the above mentioned reasons, it is plausible that governments have to guarantee the financial support for their major cities since they need funds for growth and development but not for cultural tradition purpose.