Some people prefer to live in small family units, while others think it is better to live in large family groups. Discuss both of views and give your opinion.

People have different views about which types of family structure individuals would like to live in. While there are some benefits of living in extended families, I would argue that it is better for people to live in nuclear families.

On the one hand, large family groups have several advantages. Firstly, people in various age groups live together in extended families. For example, in Northern Vietnam, senior citizens usually live with their children and offspring. This could positively affect relationships between the old and the young, which might narrow generation gap and make family more united. Secondly, because of a great number of family members in large families, they might not feel lonely and could have someone to spend time with. For instance, children could have sports activities together. This would help strengthen family bonds.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why people should live in small family units. First, due to the small number of people in nuclear families, people have more private spaces in their houses. Therefore, they could have freedom to do what they want without disturbing other members. For example, young individuals prefer listening to loud and ear-splitting music while the elderly are keen on soft and chilling music. Additionally, because small families just have one or two children, parents might have more time to take care of their children. For instance, parents need to look after adolescents who are immature to prevent them from making impulsive decisions that result in regrettable consequences. This could help them to strengthen their relationships.

In conclusion, while large family groups can have several advantages, I believe that living in small family units is a better option.