The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books."We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base bec

The argument claims that Monarch Books needs to open a cafeteria in its store to contend with its opponent, Regal Books. Stated in this way the argument: reveals examples of leap of faith, poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily states that there would be a sharp decrease in the proportion of people in the less than ten age group, therefore Monarch Books should demolish children’s book section to make way for a cafe bar. This statement is a stretch since the author does not carefully consider the drawbacks when knocking down this book section. Suppose, for example, what if children’s books account for a huge amount of revenue of the store? Clearly, it would be a precipitate decision if it is just based on a single source of data. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the recommendation comes from careful consideration.

Second, the argument claims that because Monarch Books has a large customer base, opening a cafe inside its store could help it have more customers. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between large customer base and having more customers when opening a cafe. To illustrate for the objection, how does the author ensure book buyers are would like to eat or drink at place? If the argument had provided evidence that indicating interests or habits of book readers of the store about food and beverage then the argument would have been a lot more cogent.

Finally, the statement is still ambiguous in many aspects. Does the Board of Directors do market research about their customer base? How many percent of their customers tends to stay at the store for a significant amount of time and would like to buy other things than books? Are there any trusted sources other than the national survey could be used to make the suggestion more reasonable? Does Regal Books successfully attract more customers since it opens its own cafe? Without persuasive answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore implausible. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the opinion.