“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last

Though it would appear that the decrease/decline in profits of Movies Galore can be mitigated by the cutoff of all movies released more than five years ago, the author does not make a logical case for reducing operation time of the store. On its face, it might appear that the provided evidences lead to the author’s conclusion, but there are several unwarranted assumptions that must be addressed to establish the soundness of the author’s case.

First, the writer assumes that reducing opening time for other nine stores will increase profits. In fact, the approach might be entirely ineffective to those stores. Suppose, for example, that the main problem lies in geographical area or target audience; closing the store sooner that do not address the issue would be of little use in decline their operating costs. The argument could have much clearer if it explicitly stated that from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm, there are very few patrons visit the store.

Second, the writer provides no statistical evidence indicating peak time of all stores whether it is during the day time or after work hours. To illustrate, the peak time of the store in downtown Marston could be different from that of the stores in suburban areas. Therefore, applying a similar policy to other nine stores could be a huge mistake since it damages the revenue of Movie Galore.

Finally, the argument claims that the deduction of operating expenses would increase profits of chain store. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between operating expenses and profits. For instance, marketing fee or promotion campaigns might be the issue. The argument would be strengthened considerably if the author could provide evidence proving operating cost is the only cause that negatively affects their profits.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the current conclusion that implementing those changes will effectively solve the problem.