The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation that monarch books should open a café in its store is based on assumptions which raise questions which need to be answered for proper evaluation before considering it as an effective approach. The fallacies that the prompt is based on must be evaluated with deep analysis.

Firstly, monarch has been in business for more than twenty years at the same location which suggests that its business is going quite good with the present approach. it already has a large customer base as it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. any change with the current scenario would raise a question of viability. What if the location does not appeal culinary tempt to the customers? How would the customer take the café addition when it is already popular with having no café? if the answers are negative then it might not attract more customers.

Secondly, discontinuing the children’s book section assuming it would probably become less popular is a dubious approach. The most recent national census which indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten does not ensure that the popularity of the children’s book section would decline as well. The customers of this particular section are not confined in children under age 10 only. The readers could be of any age as these books could be used for various purposes like survey, collection, library etc. would it be a wise decision when monarch is popular having a wide range of books on all subjects? The answer would likely be negative.

Finally, regal books that recently opened its own café might have a different location and a customer bases. are they successful yet with their novel addition? are they planning to shift their business to café based rather than being book based for not having enough profit? The answer is not mentioned in the prompt. Without such answers it is not possible to predict that monarch would better compete with Regals.

In conclusion, the questions raised above must be answered with proper evidences and they must be convincing before taking the recommendation as an effective approach. Perhaps there is possibility that a better approach is available instead of this one. The board must evaluate the scenario with proper attention.