The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Author is claiming that, opening a cafe in Monarch Books store will attract more customers. And to support his argument he has stated that, the rival Regal Books has opened a cafe and, to increase the comptency Monarch Books store should also do the same. It is very unconvincing that others are doing it we should also do it, this approach is not good for the business.

To support the statement author should have articulated some things. Firstly, if, Monarch Books store is in business for more than 20 years and has a large customer base, do they need to attract more customers? Are they losing business? Monarch Books store is very popular for their wide selections of books on all subjects, opening a cafe might harm their current situation as they don’t know if their customers would like it or not.

Monarch Books store wants to discontinue the children’s books section and build a cafe there and, to supprt this statement author has given a reason that, recent national statistics shows that there is decline in number of children under age. Although, there is decline in the number but, the census is indicating the nationwide number, maybe in area where book store is situated it is possible that number have not gone down. Also, children come with their parents, while children look at their books parent also shop around. This can result in losing the potential customers.

The next reason for support of his claim, author states that, the rival Regal Books store has opened a cafe and Monarch Books store should also follow the same trend. Monarch Books store should consider the fact, did opening a cafe help Regal Books store to inrease or decrease the number of cutomers? And if it helped the Regal Books store, it does not mean it will do the same more Monarch Books store. Maybe Regal Books store is such part of city that more customers will come to store because of cafe. Author should have mentioned the vicinity of Monarch Books store and, if they have any potential to run a cafe. If there are any other cafes around Monarch Books store. It will not help them in any way to gain more customers.

As discussed, author has given only one reason to support his claim and has overlooked many other facts. In my opinion, author is not very persuasive about his claim and should mention some facts to bolster the claim.