The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given passage, the writer recommends opening a café in the bookstore instead of maintaining the children’s book section. It explains that with the decline of young ages under ten, the significance of the section will decrease, and with a café, the competitiveness to other bookstores will be better. However, in order to certify the recommendation, several questions have to be answered.

Firstly, how many portions of customers visit the children’s book section? The way how the bookstore has maintained its large customers was its wide selection of books. If the bookstore opens a café at the expense of the children’s book section, it will need to give up the customers of the section. In order to examine the legitimacy of the idea, the ratio of customers in the children’s book section has to be considered. If the ratio is significantly high compared to other sections, despite the decline of young children, the sales of children’s books can still maintain a large portion of the bookstore’s entire sales. In this case, replacing the children’s book section with a café can result in losing the customers of children’s books and reducing the bookstore’s sales. It is totally obviated from what the recommendation was aiming for.

Secondly, has the number of visitors to Regal Books increased since they opened a café in the bookstore? Providing a place to read books bought from the bookstore sounds nice, however, how it really works can be different from the expectation. A café is a place to gather and talk together with others rather than a quiet place such as a library. For this nature of café, not many people might be attracted to visit the bookstore solely due to the existence of a cafe. If there was no significant increase in the number of Regal Books’ customers, it means it did not work as expected. In this case, the recommendation cannot hold water.

To sum up, the recommendation, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the aspects mentioned above cannot thoroughly be explained, the recommendation will be able to not obtain its veracity.