In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Art makes our lives colorful and enjoyable conveying authentic scenes, sounds, or sometimes smells. As diverse art forms have come out, several forms that cannot be easily understandable by laypeople also have developed. While those new forms can be helpful to broaden the range of art, it seems hard to get enough merits for the following reasons.

Firstly, non-understandable art fields will be funded less compared to other types of arts. In general, people fund money to the fields where they seem familiar or have a higher probability of success. For example, there are numerous funding for films, songs, and paintings that are famous to the public. In contrast, relatively less popular painting styles or poems are hard to receive funding from the government or companies due to their uncertainty. Financial problem is important in arts as is in other areas. Through funding, they can plan projects and expositions, gather people to work together, buy materials required to complete arts and develop to the further upper steps. Thus, as it is hard to receive funding in non-understandable arts, they will have fewer opportunities to develop their arts further and be less likely to have merit.

Secondly, art has to be shared in public in order to have full meaning. The main purpose of art is conveying creators’ opinions through various forms. It can be philosophical, political, or elsewhere without limitation. In this context, if art is not shared among people, the intend of creators in creating arts cannot be shown, and it becomes useless. While understandable arts can be actively shared with delivering what the makers wanted to say, non-understandable arts cannot. This is because the public will not be able to do that unless the artists delineate the meaning of the arts. Hence, without understandability, arts cannot convey the meaning of what they imply, as result, they do not have merit.

Whether unfamiliar art forms have merit has been a contradicting discussion in the art industry. Some might say as those arts can broaden the range of art to somewhere we have never thought of, so they have enough merit. However, those have only a little possibility to be developed due to the lack of funding and to be shared among the public. Therefore, arts can have merit when it is generally understandable to most people.