Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In most cases, major cities, wherever they are placed, in Europe, America, Asia, or else, take important roles in various aspects such as economy, education, and entertainment. Based on it, it seems reasonable that governments faithfully support the cities aiming to their prosperity. However, the reason looks dubious as not every major city is related to a nation’s traditional culture, which is descendent from their ancestors.

Firstly, there are several cases where their major cities have a tenuous relation to their tradition. For example, the capital of Australia, Canberra, is definitely an important city, but it is not like one of the representing cities of its tradition. It was determined as a capital with its locational benefit, almost in the middle of two big cities in Australia, Sydney and Melbourne. It is truly beneficial to financially support this city in the economy or else as it will contribute to other cities’ wealth. However, it is absurd to insist financial aid to Canberra is important to preserve and generate its cultural tradition.

On the other hand, there are also cities in which the presented reason can be applied. Some countries such as Korea has major cities related to their history and traditional culture. In Seoul, the capital of Korea, there are thousands of historical places and artifacts as it has been a capital for more than 500 years since the Joseon Dynasty. In fact, Korea is financially aiding the city to maintain the preserved palaces such as Gyeonbok palace, placed in the middle of Seoul, and support those who are studying traditional cooking, music, and skills. As a result, many citizens have had high interests in tradition - it has resulted in a positive influence on the country’s prosperity. In this case, it makes sense for financial support for the purpose of preserving and generating traditional culture.

To sum up, it is sincerely important to financially aid the major cities with their roles in supporting and developing countries in various fields. However, in order to insist on the rationale for the claim, it cannot be simply limited to its preservation and generation of traditional culture, but it has to be somewhat more generally applicable.