In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Some people insist that beginners have better potential to bring crucial contributions to a field as they have a fresh point of view. However, I do not agree with that. I insist that majority of important contributions would be made by experts not beginners.

Firstly, experts know well about a field. To be specific, experts are those who have studied or worked in a specific field for a long time and have accumulated vast knowledge in the field. In other words, they know well about current issues and previous attempts to resolve the issues. Thus, they will be able to set a desirable goal to improve current situations and suggest possible solutions that have not been tried yet. For this reason, I believe experts would have better chances to make significant contributions to a field when compared to beginners.

Secondly, experts have great insight into a field. Experts have handled or observed varied situations in a field. It means they are aware of the list of possible situations and manuals to manage them. With this knowledge, even if they face a new accident, they will be able to easily understand the problematic situation and come up with possible solutions based on their previous experiences. Therefore, experts will make significant contributions to many fields, especially where agility is important.

It is fact that there were beginners who have made significant contributions in a field. However, for general cases, I believe that experts will have better potential to significantly contribute to a field for the reasons I abovementioned.