The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer suggests that the limitations on the number of mopeds rented will decrease the accidents among mopeds and pedestrians. It is supported by Seaville island’s case where the number of accidents was successfully reduced by half with the limitation of mopeds. However, in order to vindicate whether the recommendation is proper, several questions are required to be answered.

Firstly, were there any changes in the number of visitors to Seaville island? Perhaps there would be new places introduced by TV shows or films to those who have never heard about there. If then, many people may have been curious about the new place and visited there instead of Seaville island during the vacation. Otherwise, perhaps there were some rumors that the shops and restaurants on the island sell products and dishes with overly high prices compared to other islands or cities. It might have made people seek another place rather than Seaville island. If the number of visitors to Seaville island decreased, the cause of reduced accidents cannot be fully explained by the limited moped numbers; it could be reduced as fewer pedestrians existed. Therefore, either of the cases that reduced the entire number of visitors to the island will weaken the writer’s recommendation.

Secondly, did the accidents increase among other transportations and pedestrians? It is unsound that the ones who were not able to rent a moped due to the limited available moped policy would travel to Seaville island on foot. Walking all day long is not easy at all, and especially those who visit the island for taking a rest during the vacation will not be likely to walk all day. It is possible that they might have rented another type of transportation, which functions similarly to mopeds. In this case, the accidents among the mopeds and pedestrians might be reduced. However, other accident types could increase such as motorcycles and pedestrians or bicycles and pedestrians. Although the policy might reduce the accidents among mopeds and pedestrians in Seaville island last year, other types of accidents might have increased. If then, the fundamental purpose of the policy to enhance the safety of the island is undermined, and the recommendation suggested by the writer cannot hold water.

To sum up, the recommendation, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. The reduced accidents in Seaville island and the limited moped number policy might have some correlation, thus, it supports the recommendation. However, it cannot be certainly verified unless the questions above are explained.