All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Some people say that participating in volunteering work at children’s schools has to be mandatory. However, I have a different opinion. I insist that no one cannot and should not force parents to volunteer at schools for the following reasons.

Firstly, each family has different stories, and some may not be able to volunteer time. To be specific, there might be a family that will suffer from making a living if they do not work every day. In another case, some parents live apart from their children for various reasons. Then, it is obvious that requiring parents to volunteer at schools may push some of them to encounter problems. Moreover, it will be ignoring the diverse situations of families while understanding and respecting diversity is one of the most important virtues these days. For this reason, I believe school volunteering work cannot be forcefully required of parents.

Secondly, some parents may not be willing to visit schools. Many parents want to know how their children are doing at school. Volunteering at schools can be a good opportunity for them to closely look at their children’s doing at school. However, for a certain educational reason, some parents may hesitate to intervene in their children’s school life. To be specific, they may believe that if they visit schools often, it can be an obstacle for their children to grow up independently. Although schools are where educating children, they cannot control all the ways of nurturing by parents. Thus, I believe schools cannot make parents’ volunteering activities mandatory.

It is obvious that there are benefits to inviting parents to volunteer at children’s schools. However, I believe it should not be forcefully required of parents for reasons including what I abovementioned.