All parents should be required to volunteer time at their children's schools.

It’s believed that with volunteer help from the parents, schools can be more effective in establishing a perfect learning environment. However, in contrast to the statement, I disagree that parents should be required to dedicate their time to school.

To begin with, if volunteer time is the time that children go to school, it’s unlikely that the school can find enough parents that are available since parents still need to go to work when their children are in school. Take the schools in the city where I grew up, for example, this city is known for its strong technology development, in which many famous technology companies are located. Most children's parents work in these companies with high workloads and intense, so taking a day off to volunteer in school is not readily possible. Therefore, as I studied in the school, I hardly noticed the school would require our parents to make an effort at school since I believed the school knew that our parents had no time to volunteer.

Second, let’s suppose the parents agree to the school’s requirements. However, if there are enormous numbers of students in the school, there will be tons of people flowing to the school every day since every student will at least have one parent come to school. This might cause several problems that might hamper the operation of the school. For example, student safety is a big concern, since by then there might be many unfamiliar people appearing in the school, increasing the safety risks for the students.

Although volunteers might release the huge workload of teachers and school faculties, it can’t be guaranteed that all volunteers will make significant effort on the volunteer work Those who are unwilling to volunteer at first might just casually finish the assigned work after they were forced to come to school. Therefore, instead of being beneficial, this volunteer time requirement might induce more burden on the school.

To sum up, based on the points mentioned above, the school shouldn’t require parents to volunteer their time at school. Parents should have their own right to choose whether they are able to conduct these volunteer works.