The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

New, brilliant technologies are already in daily lives and significantly changed many people’s lifestyles. For example, in the morning, a smartphone rings to wake up a user and brief the weather outside and the news like a private secretary. How luxurious and convenient! There are various views on how this luxurious and convenient life affected on strength and independence of individuals. However, in order to evaluate whether the luxurious and convenient life positively or negatively affected one’s strength and independence, the definitions of them have to be presented first.

Firstly, the range of independence is broad: it can be simply resolving a problematic situation without other human being’s help, or more strictly, it can be doing all oneself without any help even from smartphones or other devices. To be specific, when a tourist is finding a restaurant with an exact location, all she needs to do is put the address on Google map. Then, the application will suggest public transportations such as buses or subways. If she is so tired to transfer buses three times as suggested by Google map, she might open another application, Uber, to call a cap. Although she might not speak the language where she visited, there is no matter to use the application. In this luxurious and convenient life, reaching a goal wherever one’s current location is, or however one can speak a language in a certain country is not a big problem anymore. One might judge this situation as independently resolved the problem while one judges it highly relied on the technologies, so not independent.

Secondly, strongness also includes various meanings. Strong individuals can be either physically or mentally strong. Today’s many technologies are evaluated that they provide many useful applications to manage mental health such as non-face-to-face counselling services. In contrast, contemporary luxury and convenient life worsened physical health. Many people are so familiar to put fewer hours for physical movement in this automated world, and it is demonstrated through research such as increased obesity rates and its related health problems. Thus, the assertation that contemporary life resulted in stronger life can be partially right in terms of mental health and partially wrong in terms of physical health at the same time.

No one will deny luxuries and conveniences of contemporary lives have significantly changed how individuals live their lives. However, in order to evaluate the effect on independence and strongness, clear definitions have to be presented.