A person should never make an important decision alone.

Some people insist that sometimes an important decision has to be made without other’s advice because there is no one who fully understands decision makers’ thoughts and situations. However, I do not agree with this opinion, instead, an important decision should be made with many people’s opinions, not alone.

Firstly, no one will doubt about considering as many as possible consequences of a decision is beneficial. Although we have put a great amount of time and effort to consider all the possible pros and cons following the decision, I bet that would never be perfect but miss some points. It is not easy to find out what is missed as breaking a thinking barrier is always challenging. However, when all the aspects one has analyzed are told to a third person, he or she might catch missed points right away with a different point of view from the decision maker. It shows that considering others’ views when making an important decision is advantageous.

Secondly, people easily fall into a fallacy. When we think alone, sometimes we continue thinking in the wrong way without recognizing it. This is because people are prone to exaggeratively thinking about positive sides while ignoring negative ones. It is always difficult to judge whether we are thinking from an objective point of view, and it is the reason why we need a person who can tell us whether our thoughts are on a right track. In order to minimize the risk to be captivated by a wrong point of view, listening to others’ views are necessary.

It is disputable whether an important decision has to be made by a decision maker alone or not. However, I believe it is better to consider various opinions from others when making an important decision not to miss some important aspects and not to fall into a fallacy.