In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are always seeking heroes who might change the current world into a better one. Although some people say finding a hero has become impossible with the advent of media, our lives have been demonstrated it is not true.

Firstly, in fact, media have made more people heroes. Heroes are those who made a significant contribution to a certain field - it can be music, engineering, politics, or medicine - but it is not everything; in order to be recognized as a hero, they have to be reported to the public in any ways. When media did not cover vast fields but confined in several fields such as business, entertainment, and politics, heroes of other fields were hardly discovered. However, with the broadened media coverage, more people from various fields could have been heroes. For example, during COVID19, people who work in harsh and dangerous situations are frequently reported these days in the news, and many people got to know there are heroes who make we can continue a safe life. If there were no such news, they might never have been recognized by the public, and they might have had no chances to be called heroes. Thus, it shows media are taking a role to introduce new heroes to the world.

Secondly, media filter spurious heroes from genuine heroes. The given prompt might have come from the cases of losing hero titles due to scandals revealed by media. However, it is not like making impossible anyone be a hero but culling those who are not a real hero. For example, Hyunsoek Yang, a previous CEO of YG, one of the biggest entertainment companies in Korea, was considered a hero of the K-POP industry. However, he was related to crimes and some amount of money of the company was used in illegal actions. After his misbehaviors have been reported by media, the public realized that he was not a real hero. Although some might this kind of situation occlude the birth of a hero, it is not like that but it is filtering spurious heroes.

To sum up, media is actually making more heroes from uninterested areas, and their possibly considered negative actions to the birth of heroes are actually filtering fake heroes from real heroes. Thus, the given prompt cannot be agreed upon.