The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given letter, the writer argues that Adams Realty is a better selection than Fitch Realty to sell homes in terms of the price and the duration. The writer is supporting this assertion with the number of workers, the major employment types (i.e. full-time or part-time), the average selling price, and the duration for selling the writer’s homes. However, in order to insist on the given argument, the validation of stated and unstated assumptions is essentially required.

Firstly, the commission of Adams Realty and Fitch Realty might have differences. When using Adams Realty is much more expensive than Fitch Realty, relatively poor people will be likely to hesitate to ask Adams for selling their homes. In contrast, relatively affluent people are more willing to prefer somewhere that seems to provide better services with little worries about the amount to pay. If Adams Realty investigates more money on making fancy advertisements about their proficient full-time agents, although the working type does not necessarily mean the quality of service, the affluent people might be more likely to choose them nonetheless the high commission. As a result, more affluent people use Adams Realty, while others prefer Fitch Realty, and the average cost of homes sold in the list of Adams will be higher. If the commission of two firms is different separating the users depending on the income levels, the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the conditions and the selling seasons of the author’s two houses might be different. Perhaps the writer’s house sold with Adams was in the reasonable price range with good quality, while the price of the one sold with Fitch was absurdly high considering its quality. Since no one hopes to buy a house for a higher price than its own condition, the latter case might have taken a longer time to be sold. Or perhaps the writer tried to sell the home with Fitch during the rainy season when people are less likely to move. If then, although the agent was Adams Realty, it might have taken a similar period. Clearly, it is difficult to blame Fitch for a longer period to sell the home in either case, and the writer cannot hold water.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably uncertain due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. In order to strongly insist on the superiority of Adams Realty to Fitch Realty, the writer will have to concretely explain the suspicions on the author’s stated and unstated assumptions.