The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the given passage, it argues that the reason the unemployment rate in Dillton was not changed is that the two new factories in Dillton hired those workers from other towns. Although it might be true, it seems possible to explain the given situations alternatively.

Firstly, the number of fired employees of other companies in Dillton might have increased, and it offset the number of newly hired employees by new factories. The given passage says that the city’s economy was flagging, and it might imply factories or companies in Dillton might have suffered from financial issues. When a company faces financial trouble, in general, it reduces the number of workers to save money. Thus, due to the economic crisis in companies of Dillton, other companies might have fired many employees, and it resulted in the unchanged unemployment rate compromising the new hires in the new factories. If then, the argument will be undermined.

Secondly, hiring 1,000 people might not a significant number to Dillton. Perhaps Dillton is a megacity such as Seoul in Korea or Tokyo in Japan, so the number of its residents is more than a million. If then, although the new factories hire new 1,000 employees only from those who live in Dillton, the unemployment rate might seem unchanged. In this case, the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, many of the workers of two newly opened factories might have been the members of the companies that opened factories in Dillton. Perhaps the new factories are subordinated to headquarters, and the companies might have reassigned the workers living in Dillton to the newly opened factories. In this case, although the new factories’ workers are not full of those who live outside of the town, there is no significant change in the unemployment rate. Thus, it weakens the argument.

To sum up, there are several other possible explanations for the given situation, and it cannot be concluded that the unchanged rate of unemployment is related to that the workers of the two new factories are from outside of the town. If the writer fails to provide enough evidence to prove those mentioned alternative situations are not true, the argument cannot be plausible.