The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In an article in a Dilton newspaper, it is stated that despite the establishment of factories in town, the unemployement rate of Dillton city has remain unchanged. The explanation for this argument is that new factories has been employing staff from out-of-town worker instead of Dillton residents. The author posit this claim to be plausible assuming that decreasing corporate tax and funding grants to any company will solve city's unemployement problem. The explanation seems quite plausible initially, but on the close scrutiny of the arguments and assumptions made proves the explanation to be baseless.

Initially, the unemployement rate of the Dillton city has claimed to be unchanged, but it is possible that the population of city is relatively higher than the job opening that only two factories could afford. For an instance, if there are 300,000 people in city but the two factories opening can afford 2000 people then it may seems that most of the city people are still unemployed. While it is likely to be true that the unemployement rate has been unchanged, however, the number of people that are migrated every year to dillton has not been taken into account in the argument. Furthermore, It is possible that the exemeption of corporate tax has resulted the immigration of people to the city in higher rate resulting the population to be higher than the available opprtunities.In other words, it is likely that more people will lured to city if they have to pay less from their earning.Thus, it is possible that from last year to this year, more people might have been migrated listening to the corporate tax lowering in Dilton city. If any of these reason has merit,then this explanation is seriously flawed.

Secondly, since Dalton city council has provided grant to every possible company that would move to dillton, it is possible that the factory require highly skilled worker from a specific discipline. While, the people from Dillton city might have different specialization, which has resulted the situation where factory couldnt hire the city residents. For an instance, if the factory is to produce Agriculture inputs then it will need people more from the agriculture field. But, if the city resident has very few agriculture researcher and graduates then it will cause no change to employement rates. Thus, if any of the situation has merit, then the explanation hold no water.

In conclusion, the explanation of argument, as it claims now, is seriously flawed.It is merely based on unwarrented assumptions and incomplete data and evidences. It would have been more plausible, if the argument has supplied evidence on population data, work profile of the residents and other supporting facts.