The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter, from the owner of Sunnyside Towers apartment complex, it is claimed that profit of the complex will significantly increase as the showerhead will be modified inorder to restrict the waterflow throughout twelve building in complex. The owner of apartment complex has claimed this statement in reference to the result obtained from change made in three building where maximum waterflow was possible to be restricted and being based on minimum complain made by the apartment residents about low water pressure. However, before this recommendation are made, these three evidence needs to be thoroughly evaluated.

First of all, the owner of the apartment complex has prematurely assumed that reduce in the flow of water to one third will increase the saving of the sunnyside corporation. In fact, the evidence are still not strong to help drawn into conclusion.The reading of the water usage before and after is not yet obtained.It is possible that the actual increase in expenses of the corporation in water is not due to the waterflow, rather, the leakage in the waterpipe and other extraneous factor might be responsible. Probably, the low water pressure will increase the cost of high electrical energy to pump on such height of building, resulting increase in cost of electricity bill. Thus, without proper reading and evaluation of the records of saving water unit, it is risky decision to adjust the showerhead of building.

Secondly, despite some complain being recorded, the owner has came to the conclusion that there is no problem in low water pressure. However, it is likely to be possible that those few complain can be representative from the resident of three building whose showeheads were modified one months ago. If it is true , then the conclusion which has been derived based on this assumption that there will be no problem in pressure change, will be misleading.In fact, without the proper survey in the present response of three building residents whose showerheads were changed, the evidence is still not strong enough to cite, inorder to jump into a conclusion. Therefore, the complaints if properly reviewed and adrressed then this evidence can be cited.

Furthermore, the evidence from the past month expenses is well needed. If the list of expenses that the corporation has made on waterline is derived then it can be used to evaluate whether there is extra expenses on water or not. However,it will be more rational, if the owner would wait and look at the difference of expenses from past few month to the coming few month on waterline. If the evidence are drawn that shows that there is significant difference in the cost and saving has been made then only it can be cited as a strong evidence. Otherwise, the sudden jump into conclusion without proper evaluation of expenses and saving will be irrational.

Thus, the argument, based on the current evidence, is seriously flawed. However, with proper record of response from resident in the three earlier changed shower head building and through analysis of cost and saving of few month around change, can be proved as a strong evidence, inorder to draw a conclusion. Otherwise, the cited evidence if taken for drawing conclusion, then the owner might cause a big loss to the corporation instead of profite as expected.