Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given reading passage, it is stated that distinctly patterned woven baskets, known as Palean baskets, were not uniquely theirs. It is supported as the so-called Palean baskets were also found in Lithos, but no boats were discovered to reach Lithos across the deep and wide Brim River. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated, three additional proofs are required.

Firstly, the depth and width of the Brim River might be shallower and narrower at that time compared to these days. The geological features are affected by countless factors from wind to waves and they can be changed gradually or even dramatically. For example, after a huge flood, new streams can be created and sometimes they grow followed by additional environmental incidents as large as to be called a river. Likewise, perhaps the configuration of Brim River might be markedly different, enough to cross without special transportations such as boats. If then, the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is possible that the Palean baskets were handed to Lithos by their descendants. It is absurd to assume that the baskets made in a certain era must be handed at that time. Historically, the migrant of artifacts happened frequently especially between the 1st and the 2nd world wars. Many European countries colonized some Asian and African countries and they moved their own heritages to other areas. Similarly, the baskets can be made by Palean people and then moved far later than that time. If it is true, it makes sense no Palean boats were found around the Brim River, while the baskets are uniquely theirs. For this case, the argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, perhaps the boat of Palean was made of somewhat difficult to remain its existence. There are various materials and all of them have different properties. Woods and grasses are relatively decomposed easily, whereas plastics take several thousands years. With the lack of skills to build a boat with hard materials such as woods, it is possible the Palean people at that time made a boat with grass, which is difficult to be found any evidence in these days. Without the knowledge about what they utilized to build a boat, it cannot be concluded they did not hand the basket to Lithos. If this point is explained by other records or else, the argument will obtain strength.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions in drawing the conclusion. If the author considers the three aspects above and offer convincing evidence for each, then it will be possible to fully evaluate whether the so-called Palean basket is distinctively Palean’s.