Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As the level of education gets entirely higher, more and more students are deciding to go to university rather than finding a job after graduating from high school. However, there are some students who forgo to go to university due to financial problems. In this situation, the argument that governments should financially aid those students in need has been continuously offered. However, it has been objected to as it is unrealistic with the process to choose who to support and the alternative solutions already exist.

Firstly, establishing a standard to select students to provide a free university education is realistically challenging, and it could be unfair. The possible problem happens if governments cannot offer a free university education to all university students. In order to select some students, fair standards are needed as the amount of money governments offer will be tantamount, and the money comes from tax. However, judging whether a student can afford the tuition is unclear as evaluating a financial state is somewhat ambiguous. For example, one might think estates and incomes of their parents can be measured, however, not all the citizens report their incomes transparently. Thus, the one who trustfully reported can be disadvantageous, as result, it is unfair. With regard to this point, offering financial aids for university tuition to selected students hardly holds water.

Secondly, there already exist alternative solutions to support students financially. Many universities and foundations offer scholarships to brilliant students such as received good grades or won a big prize from a well-known conference. Hence, there are many chances to get financial assistance from various sources if students try their best and achieve a certain success. Considering this situation, offering financial assistance to students in need without any conditions or significant reasons rather than their financial states can be an obstacle to students to put more effort to achieve something or even be unfair to those who put lots of effort to receive scholarships.

It is true that there are students who cannot afford university tuition due to their financial state. However, as it is challenging to provide fair standards to select students to aid and there already exist other alternative solutions, the policy of governments’ subsidy for tuition seems unnecessary.