Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The reading passage argues that human arrival to Kaliko Islands is irrelevant to the extinctions of large mammals. Although it is supported by several reasons, it seems its stated or unstated assumptions have a possibility to make the argument unreliable.

Firstly, the author is assuming that the archaeologists have found every site of humans at that time settled down. The reading passage mentioned that due to the lack of evidence of large mammals at historical sites there is no correlation between humans’ arrival and mammal extinction. However, perhaps there are numerous undiscovered historical sites which might provide evidence of hunting of large mammals. If then, the argument that humans are unrelated to the large mammals’ extinctions will be weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that contacting with the mammals always leaves evidence. However, it is not applicable to every situation as some kinds of contact rarely leave fossils or other evidence. Perhaps they hunted cows or sheep to obtain leathers rather than meats, so they might have not brought the whole parts of heavy mammals’ bodies but brought only necessary parts. Since leathers are hardly fossilized or preserved compared to bones, there might have remained scarce evidence. Hence, if then, despite the lack of evidence there might have been an influence of humans on mammals, as result, the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, the argument does not consider the indirect influence of humans on mammals. Perhaps people who arrived at the Kaliko islands fired forest intentionally to make lands for agriculture. If then, although there might be no direct contact between humans and mammals, those mammals that lived in the forest were influenced by those humans, and in this case, no evidence remains. Therefore, if there was that kind of indirect contact, the argument is weakened.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author cannot provide proper evidence to prove the stated or unstated assumptions mentioned above are true, the argument cannot be persuasive.