A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

There are many arguments on whether a curriculum has to be uniform, or it might be different. The proponents of providing the same curriculum insist that it will help a nation to easily maintain the education system. However, providing exactly the same curriculum to every student is ignoring the fact that the learning abilities of each student vary.

Firstly, the same curriculum might be detrimental to students with different learning paces. For instance, in math class, how fast a student can understand a new concept and apply it to real-life is various. Some can catch the point right after the class while others require more time to achieve that level. If a lecturer proceeds to the next class with more advanced topics in accordance with the pace of fast learners, there will be students who cannot understand the entire class. If it continues, the ones who cannot keep with the class might forgo the math class. In contrast, if a lecturer conducts a lecture slowly to help everyone understand the concept, the students who relatively learn faster will feel boring as the same contents are repeated. In this case, they might lose their interest to study more missing chances to more deeply handle the subject. Hence, providing the same curriculum to all of the students is not a great idea.

Secondly, in order to increase the effectiveness of education, it has to be provided depending on the student’s demands. 12 years, the time students spend in school before going to universities, are a fairly long time, so, many high schools handle advanced topics in each subject. However, teaching the averaged advanced contents, as suggested in the prompt, cannot be considered the best way. For example, there is a student who wants to go to law school to be a lawyer. Then, she might want to handle more advanced politics and social science rather than less related subjects such as science. If she takes more advanced courses in those fields, she will be advantageous to study further subjects at university. Therefore, the curriculum depending on students’ demand, rather than a uniform curriculum, will be more beneficial.

Despite the benefit of providing the same curriculum in maintaining the entire national education system, this assertation does not thoroughly consider the different abilities and demands of students. Thus, the prompt cannot be agreed upon.