A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people insist that a nation should provide the same curriculum to all the students until the high school level. However, providing different curriculum depending on students' abilities or needs is more plausible.

Firstly, every student has different abilities in learning, requiring different curriculums. Not every student has the same pace to acquire new concepts, understand their basic principles, and apply them to real life or other cases. For example, in math class, when a new concept is handled in class, some of them might understand it right after the class while others might not. In the next class, if teachers go into the next level such as the applications of the concept, those students who understood the last class can follow it while others cannot. If this kind of situation continues, the students who cannot follow the class properly will end up forgo the subject. If a teacher separates the students into 2 to 3 groups depending on their abilities to understand math class, more students will be happy to take the class. Thus, it shows the needs of different curriculums in accordance with each individual's learning ability.

Secondly, every student has different dreams, and providing different curriculums that are related to each of them is beneficial. Students have different fields of study they want; for example, some students might want to go to medical school to be a doctor while some others might want to go to law school to be a lawyer. However, if a high school provides the same curriculum to both students, they might think some of the parts are irrelevant and make them waste their time. If a school provides different curriculums to those, for example, providing advanced math and science class to the students who want to be a doctor and advanced politics or social science to the students who want to be a lawyer, both of them will be more satisfied exploring the fields of study deeply even before they enter college. Therefore, it shows providing different curriculums according to their needs is beneficial than providing the same curriculum.

On the other hand, some might insist that providing different curriculums is realistically difficult as building a curriculum requires a glut of money and time. However, as it is clear that providing different ones to each group of students is helpful and beneficial, it is worth paying for.

To sum up, although there are many thoughts in providing either the same or different curriculums to students, providing different curriculums depending on students' learning ability and the needs is more plausible.