Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Universities are one of the educational institutions where they provide high-level knowledge that is closely related to many professions such as nurses, teachers, and engineers. Considering their primary objects, to raise experts in various fields, some argue that universities should focus on educating students in certain fields, they chose as their majors. However, it is ignoring the advantages of providing students access to various fields, not limited to their own study fields.

Firstly, providing an opportunity to study outside one’s major can be a good chance to experience various fields, and might help them to find the most proper one for each. Students who go to universities are still young to decide fields which could be related to their life-long professions. There are many students who have never seriously thought about what to study and decide just anything that seems attractive while do not know how the decision will result in. While learning their chosen fields, some of them might hope to change their fields of study for a variety of reasons. Furthermore, some fields might be different from what students expected. For example, there might be a student who chose Mathematics for her study field as she likes to solve math problems. However, Mathematics is more likely to research how to approach mathematical problems rather than simply solve them. This can be disappointing the student and even make her hope to change the study field. In these cases, chances to take courses in other fields can be beneficial to them to make a decision whether they change study fields, if then, which to change. Therefore, providing students to take courses from other fields is beneficial.

Secondly, universities have to educate students to survive in society by providing knowledge in terms of economics, politics, and other subjects related to reality. For many students, universities are the last step of educational institutions. Until high school, they handled just basic subjects such as languages, mathematics, and science, however, those are not enough to get to know about society. They need to be educated in the fields such as how the economy works and how politicians affect society, and universities have to take this role. Hence, universities’ provision of lectures in fields other than students’ major is necessary.

There are some people who insist on offering education outside of what students chose to study is waste of time and money to both universities and students. However, the advantages of the provision of knowledge outweigh the possible disadvantages. As a result, universities have to make it mandatory to take courses in fields outside of students’ majors.