The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding contemporary culture is crucial to many businesses to provide intriguing services or products to their target customers. Hence, how to understand the recent culture in effective ways has been discussed for a long time, and analyzing the youth’s trends has been suggested as one of them. Although some reject the significance of youth’s impact on contemporary culture, it seems the most effective method to acquire information about contemporary culture.

Firstly, youth has the power to change their family culture, which means their impact on society is not confined to their similar age groups but also to older generations, their parent’s generation. For example, there is a new trend in Korea, which can be easily found on Instagram or other SNS: visit a beautifully decorated café, order a drink that seems authentic or unique, post on SNS, and communicate with others even with those who have never met. At first, this trend seems shared only in young groups, however, their parents started following the trend as well. Although they use different platforms such as Naver band, they do almost similar things. As it shows, the trend among young ages affected their parent generation, which indicates that analyzing trends of youth might imply not only the features of its generation’s but also of their parents’ generation. Hence, examining the trends of youth is beneficial to understand contemporary culture as it might include other generations’ features.

Secondly, young aged people are interested in many aspects of contemporary culture. While order aged groups tend to focus on their own interested areas, younger ages are more likely to search for various fields. For example, young students, in usual, have a strong interest in fashion: they are susceptible to trends and buy following the trends. Also, when many YouTubers uploaded cooking an egg with stirring up more than 1000 times, many young agers did the same thing and uploaded the videos on their SNS. Similar things happened not only in fashion and food but also in art, technology and others. It shows examining youth will be beneficial in understanding various aspects of contemporary culture.

To sum up, analyzing trends of youth is the most effective way to understand contemporary culture. However, it does not necessarily mean youth is the only possible source to understand contemporary culture. Through the trends of youth, analysts can understand the trends not confined in young agers but shared with order generations and examine various aspects of contemporary culture.