People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do.

Some people might insist that people living these days spend excessive time for their enjoyment rather than their works that they have to do. For example, we can easily find those who watch movies or video clips through Netflix and YouTube almost anywhere (i.e. subways, works, and schools). However, I do not agree with the statement; instead, people today spend much more time on what they should do.

Firstly, with the development of technologies, the working hours have been increasing. Before computers and the internet had been widely used, in order to work, workers had to be physically at work. However, in these days, the majority of people own their personal laptops (or computers), and the internet is accessible even in subways. Although it has brought us countless benefits, it has extended the real working hours, which means the entire engaged time for work not only in the office but also at home. For example, when there is an urgent project, workers keep working with their laptops at night or even during weekends at their places. It shows that people today work more than ever, convincing that the given statement is false.

Secondly, although people might be seen as they are entertaining with their smartphones or tablet PCs, many of them are actually studying. With the advent of easy-to-carry media such as smartphones and tablet PCs, many internet-based educational programs have been developed. It allowed us to access study materials even during the time that has been considered as improper to study. For example, in a subway, it is easy to find students who are watching a lecture, in order to make their commute time more useful. Thus, it demonstrates that how people living these days spend their time for what they have to do rather than for their personal enjoyment.

It is disputable whether people today excessively spend their time entertaining themselves rather than for their have-to works. However, I think the given statement is not agreeable with the consideration of two points mentioned in this article.