Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Leaders of enterprises are important as they make a glut of decisions which can even change the companies’ facet. Although most leaders start their positions with a strong will to achieve their goals, many of them easily lose their initial mindset after several years. Consequently, they sometimes demonstrate a serious aberrance from the original, primary goals. For this reason, some people assert that one should not keep in power for more than five years for companies’ revitalization. However, there are several realistic problems in compelling them to give up their power and electing new leaders every five years.

Firstly, most leaders of private enterprises highly contributed to the company in various aspects for many years. In other words, as their power is strongly built and maintained, others cannot easily compel them to abandon their power. Thus, in order to change enterprises’ leaders, they have to give up the power themselves. However, for most cases, the leadership positions have a strong relation to their assets such as stocks - ceding a leader’s role to others is similar to ceding their assets to others. In this aspect, not many of them will be willing to step down from an important position. Therefore, the limitation of the period as a leader is unsound for many private companies.

Secondly, changing leader process requires high costs in terms of both money and time. In order to elect a new leader, a company needs to nominate candidates, present the promises, and go through the voting procedure. In spite of the possible simplification of the steps, it still requires such procedures which would be unnecessary unless the company changes its leader. Furthermore, adaptation to new leaders’ policies is highly costly if they have totally different goals from the previous leaders. Hence, changing a leader can be disadvantageous as it might prevent a company from using its time and money for a more valuable purpose.

Changing a leader every five years might be helpful for an enterprise resulting in the companies’ revitalization. However, coercion of changing leadership policy does not seem to be applicable to private companies and the cost for the election of new leaders is expensive. As a result, the claim and the reason would not be able to obtain acceptance due to their lack of consideration of reality.