The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given memorandum, it states that the customers have difficulties in catching the differences between butter and margarine or they consider butter which includes both butter and margarine. This conclusion was drawn from the observations after Happy Pancake House substituted butter with margarine: only a few customers expressed their dissatisfaction with the change, and many cases with no complaints were reported when providing margarine instead for those who ordered butter. While the conclusion of memorandum may make sense, there are other possibilities worth considering.

Firstly, the customers might not significantly care about whether the restaurants put butter or margarine in their pancakes while distinguishing the different tastes and thinking margarine is not a subcategory of butter. If the customers do not feel significant unsatisfaction with the taste of changed ingredients, there is no reason to complain about it. In general, customers expect the restaurants to provide them delicious pancakes less considering what the restaurants put on them unless it is harmful or detrimental. Even if they made an order with prejudice that butter tastes better than margarine, the customers might have changed their mind to putting margarine is also not bad after receiving pancakes with margarine and did not complain about it. In this case, the drawn conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, more customers might have felt uncomfortable receiving a pancake with margarine instead of butter, but they were too lazy to make complaints. In order to complain, the customer needs to search for the restaurants’ number, make a call, explain the situation specifically, and wait for answers from the restaurants. If the restaurants receive complaints only online, its process gets more difficult. Since going through either of these entire processes is time-consuming and tiresome, not every customer with dissatisfaction make complaints. Therefore, there might be even more people who were unhappy with the wrong ingredients who did not express their complaints. In this case, it is premature to consider those who did not complain about margarine have a disability of distinguishing butter and margarine or a misconception pertaining to margarine (margarine is a kind of butter).

To sum up, the explanation, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the lack of evidence in drawing the conclusion. It was demonstrated that there are possible alternative explanations for the given facts besides the author’s. In order to concrete the conclusion in the memorandum, the author will have to consider the stated alternatives and reject them with credible evidence.