Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The development of scientific technologies over the last 50 years has changed our lives to more convenient and effective. Hoping for a further positive evolution of our daily lives, there are some people who insist that restrictions on scientific research and development have to be minimized. However, my opinion is a lot different from theirs. I believe that a certain level of government restrictions is required for the following reasons.

Firstly, science is too close to the borderline of human beings’ safety. Especially for those research and development in medicine, they can directly affect our health; thus, many restrictions have been on them. For example, when developing vaccines, they should meet strict requirements, including long-term test results for various groups (i.e., male and female adults, children, and the elderly). The main reason for its strictness has originated in the awareness of its possible dangers. Thus, with consideration of the possibility that new scientific development causes dangerous effects on us, I would like to say restrictions should exist.

Secondly, some scientific research and development include national secretes. Many of the studies conducted by national research institutes are directly related to the power of nations. For example, space-rocket-related technologies can be easily converted to developing missiles. Therefore, those technologies are kept confidential to outside or other countries with strict regulations by governments. If there is no restriction to share the technologies with others, it will result in the loss nation’s power. It demonstrates the importance of setting restrictions on scientific research and development. For this reason, I support the necessity of restrictions on scientific studies.

It is true that restrictions on scientific studies may hinder scientific technologies from further evolution. However, as they are strongly related to our safety and sometimes include secrets of our nations, I insist that restrictions on them are required at a certain level.