Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Some people say that pursuing long-term goals is more desirable than pursuing short-term ones as they help us to set a solid outline. However, I have a different opinion. I believe putting more value on short-term goals, instead of long-term goals, is better for the following reasons.

Firstly, thinking about the near future is easier than thinking about the far future. In general, long-term goals are for five or even farther years later while short-term goals are targeted in a month or even shorter time. As no one can vividly imagine one’s future, long-term goals are more likely to be abstract. It makes us difficult to plan sub-steps as there are too many possibilities. In addition, when we figure out our sub-plans were undesirable, we need to change not only the ones but also consecutive ones. On the other hand, as short-term goals are for the near future, they are relatively more specific; thus, it is easier to set sub-plans in detail. Moreover, following short-term goals allows us to be more agile. When we realize that the goals were problematic, we just need to change them with fewer considerations to later plans. For this reason, I believe young people need to be encouraged to follow relatively immediate goals instead of long-term goals.

Secondly, achievement energizes us to step further. For short-term goals, it takes far less time for achieving the goals, compared to long-term goals. When reaching out to the goals, we will feel happy with what we have done, and it will be strong motivation for the next steps toward greater goals. By contrast, when we pursue long-term goals, it may be difficult to evaluate how we are close to the goals. When the vagueness continues, we may burn out energies with no stimulation to prolong. Thus, I insist that pursuing short-term goals is more beneficial.

I agree that there are some advantages to following long-term goals. However, I believe the benefits of following short-term goals are much greater, including the aspects I abovementioned.