In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some might insist that one can succeed in a certain area without the help of previous research. However, it seems impossible to make an important contribution without past achievements.

Firstly, making a significant contribution is harder than anytime due to a glut of previous successes and their complexity, but previous achievements suggest us the ways to achieve further steps. These days, despite the difficulties to make a significant contribution to any field, the speed of development in many fields such as medicine, engineering, business, and education is accelerating. How could it be possible? The enhanced accessibility to previous achievements through the internet and other digital sources seems the answer to the question. For the sake of past achievements, people can easily acquire the related information in their fields, analyze what problems were and how previous research tried to solve them, and suggest new solutions. Since the problems are getting more and more complicated, without studying previous cases, it is almost impossible to make a significant contribution to any certain area. Thus, past achievements take an important role for someone to make a contribution to one’s field.

Secondly, in every field, basic theorems have to be acquired. There is nowhere a neophyte without any basic knowledge in a certain field can make a success in the field. Some might insist that if you want to invent something new, all you need is imagination. However, it is not true; in order to invent something, they have to understand situations where new inventions are required, understand basic science concepts for making the basis of how a new machine works, and consider methods to make the machine in the real world. Or some might say artistic fields are where basic knowledge is unnecessary. However, in order to make a contribution in the artistic fields by composing new styled music or painting new styled pictures, they all need to firstly learn how to read scores, how to use brushes for each situation to express different textures, and other things that previous achievements have been developed. Therefore, it shows the importance of learning previous achievement, and it seems impossible to make a significant contribution to a certain field without them.

To sum up, without being influenced by previous achievements, it is impossible to make a significant contribution to any certain fields.