The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the advent of new technologies, many people’s lifestyles have been significantly changed. For example, automation in various manufacturing industries has reduced harsh and dangerous works and allowed more people to engage in service industries. This kind of change has brought more luxurious and convenient contemporary lives. Some insist that the changes are negative as it made people more lean to technologies: without smartphones or the internet, people will be no more able to continue their lives. Although reliance to technologies might have increased, contemporary life with more luxuries and conveniences, in fact, allowed people to handle more things by own their hands.

Firstly, the luxury and convenient life has led people to be more independent even from young ages. A trip all planned by oneself is a good example of demonstrating it. About 30 years ago, traveling around the world was not common, especially for young students. For example, in Korea, to travel outside of the country, they had to receive special permission from the nation. However, it totally changed with the global lifestyles of contemporary people: now, anyone can go outside of Korea if they have a flight ticket and a proper Visa if needed. As a result, the number of university students who are planning a trip to European countries, Japan, China, or others has been significantly increased. For the sake of technologies’ convenience, they can handle all the planning procedures by themselves such as booking a flight ticket, making a reservation for hostels, and scheduling the routes where to visit. It shows the contemporary life actually has made people more independent and even stronger.

Secondly, with the contemporary lifestyle, people require fewer assists from others, which means they have become more independent. To be specific, through the internet, they can obtain all the information they want without contacting others. When utilizing the internet was not yet prevalent, the most reliable and easy way to get information was to visit professors or experts and receive answers directly from them, as result, they highly relied to someone else. In contrast, these days, even highly specialized information can be easily found through Google scholars or journal websites, so people can study more independently.

The contemporary luxurious and convenient life has changed how people live their lives. It might have resulted in somewhat negative influences on individuals such as excessive reliance on technologies, but that is not everything that it resulted in. Clearly, there are numerous positive aspects of contemporary life with more strength and independence.