All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

As the world becomes closer and closer with the advent of novel technologies such as rapid transportation systems and the internet, the importance to study abroad has been highlighted. While some people insist that there will be no great benefits to studying abroad for some students depending on their fields of study, I believe there will be definite advantages regardless of their majors. The reasons for this opinion will be explained below.

Firstly, studying abroad experience will allow students to understand different cultures. As countries are more tightly connected to each other, it has been required to know how to cooperate with people or companies from diverse cultural backgrounds. This is not only for trading-related industries but even also for companies based on engineering technologies. For example, General Motors is one of the leading automobile companies in the world, and it has a lot of factories and branches all over the world. As many businesses - no matter what their field is - are expanding elsewhere outside of the country where it was originally started, they are more and more requiring their employees to be properly engaged in a multicultural atmosphere than ever. By studying in foreign countries, students may develop abilities to understand and respect different cultures. Thus, I would like to say that spending at least a semester in another country can be beneficial for all undergraduate students.

Secondly, studying in another country will be a great opportunity to raise self-reliance. Living somewhere students do not know anyone and even cultures are not as same as in their home countries might be challenging at first. However, in the end, it will allow them to learn how to resolve unexpected problems by themselves and build their own lifestyle. Up until high school, students were too young to live alone abroad; however, during universities or colleges, it would be the appropriate time to try this new adventure under the safe boundaries of educational institutions. In this regard, I believe that the opportunity to study in a foreign country will be advantageous for all university or college students.

The level of advantages might vary depending on what they are studying. However, I would like to insist that - all in all, a study abroad experience will be beneficial for students with various aspects including what I abovementioned.