Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Countless methods to provide better education to students have been suggested. Some people insist that stimulating them to compete with each other for getting high grades can enhance the learning quality. However, I have a different opinion. I believe excessive competition will be disadvantageous for the quality of education.

Firstly, high competition for grades might make the difficulty of exams absurd. Especially in high schools, teachers cannot let all their children receive good grades. This is because universities require them to reasonably evaluate the students with their academic performance. So, if competition for good grades is too excessive, teachers will need to make exams more difficult with questions requiring the understanding of trivial details. Then, students will need to spend their extra time studying relatively less important topics; instead of doing more valuable activities. The education that forces students to waste their time studying unhelpful materials cannot be considered high-quality. For this reason, I insist on the negative effect of competition for good grades on education quality.

Secondly, stress is an enemy of learning. If students are forced to compete for high grades, being stressed will be inevitable. Previous studies have demonstrated the causation between stress and learning abilities. To be specific, when students get stressed, their learning abilities (i.e., understanding and memorizing new information) are seriously limited. If students are incapable of exploiting their full learning abilities, the learning quality cannot be at its best. Thus, I would like to say that competition for good grades does not seem to be beneficial for education.

Of course, there is a positive effect of a competitive atmosphere to receive good grades on the quality of education. However, I believe its disadvantages including those abovementioned will outweigh its advantages. Therefore, I insist that the competition will be detrimental to the overall education quality.