The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the reading passage, it argues that a firm has to hire those who sleep less than 6 hours per night as the prosperity of businesses is related to the sleep duration of their employees. However, the assertation seems based on unwarranted assumptions which can make it not persuasive.

Firstly, the recent study might cover only for short-term effect while there is a possibility to report the opposite results if the study continues longer. Perhaps how they have made higher revenues and faster growth might be having more time to work compromising sleeping time. However, if it lasts longer, the opposite results can occur as some employees suffer from physical or mental health problems due to the chronic lack of sleep as convinced by numerous researchers. If then, the result in long-term might be different - less effective. If it unveiled true, the assertation is weakened.

Secondly, the study does not mean everyone who sleeps more than 6 hours shows poor performance. Perhaps the ratio of great performers with less than 6-hour sleep requirement to more than 6-hour sleep requirement is 7:3. Although a larger portion of those who demonstrated great performance sleeps less than 6 hours, the number of great performers who sleep more than 6 hours cannot be ignorable. If a firm eliminates longer sleepers’ names from candidate lists, they will lose to hire those competent candidates. Hence, making a hiring standard regarding sleep time does not make sense.

Thirdly, probably the assertation is only applicable to advertising executive roles, not to other roles in firms. In general, advertising jobs include many time-consuming tasks compared to other fields. In contrast, there are some fields which more require fresh-mind and creativity, so securing certain enough sleep time is important. The argument might be true in advertising firms, but it might not be to other kinds of businesses such as engineering or teaching. Hence, if then, the argument cannot hold water.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, seems considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the study was either one of those three cases mentioned above, the argument cannot be persuasive.