Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Principles are basically aiming for maintaining the order of society. However, it sometimes conflicts with public opinions and results in confusion. There are contradicting opinions on how to deal with the situations of conflicting between public opinions and principles. Although some insist that the maintaining constant of principles and objectives has to remain, there are several reasons to compromise public policies with public opinion.

Firstly, there might be outdated policies that are incompatible with contemporary situations. The world changes rapidly and some of the scenes of these days are unexpectable in the view of 30 years ago. However, many of the existing policies are built more than 50 years ago, sometimes even more than 100 years ago depending on each country’s political history. It is hard to expect that aged policies will suggest proper solutions for every situation that currently happens. There might be never expected cases, or the current policy might be absurd if it is applied. Therefore, some policies might have to be compromised reflecting the current public opinion, and it is what the political leaders have to do.

Secondly, a democratic country is where citizens are the owner of the country. It means every policy has to reflect what the public generally thinks. If there are severe contradictions between what the public wants and what the law is saying, it might mean the law does not properly represent the public opinion. It is an undesirable situation in terms of democracy indicating some changes are required. The major role of political leaders is resolving this kind of wrong situations by logically compromising policies contradicted to public opinion.

On the other hand, compromising principles can be dangerous as sometimes public opinion is unjust. They are susceptible to mass media which sometimes convey wrong or biased information. If public opinion is deviated from what is right, compromising policies depending on it might result in problematic situations. However, most of them can be properly handled through discussion with political leaders and other experts in certain related fields.

To sum up, although there is a possibility to wrongly compromise a policy with public opinion, it seems manageable with political leaders’ contribution and other reasons to compromise it seems strong overweighing the possible disadvantages. Therefore, political leaders will need to accept public opinion compromising current contradicting policies.