People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or co-workers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Some people insist that people can learn better from their teachers or supervisors rather than their friends or coworkers. This is because those with a higher level of knowledge can teach them with better quality. However, I think people learn better from those at their similar level for the following reasons.

Firstly, those with a similar level of knowledge can better understand each other. In order to learn efficiently, one who teaches has to properly analyze the level of learners (i.e. what they know and what they do not know). Moreover, one who is taking a teaching role has to know how to let them understand a concept or theory. However, many of those at a higher level have difficulties in understanding those at lower levels as they sometimes assume that a certain concept or technique is so basic that everyone will know. Also, they might explain new knowledge in their points of view, which is challenging to understand by those at lower levels. On the other hand, when those at a similar level teach since they have already realized well about what will be challenging to each other, they can teach from an adequate starting point in an effective way. Therefore, it shows learning from their friends or coworkers can be more beneficial than learning from their teachers or supervisors.

Secondly, when people learn from those at a similar level, they tend to be more active compared to the case of when they learn from those at a higher level. For example, it is always challenging to ask supervisors a basic thing because we care a lot about how the supervisors think about us. This is because those can make important decisions such as our positions or wages. It makes us pretend as if we are understanding the overall process although we are not. However, when we are asking about the same thing to our coworkers, our behaviors are changed. We will be more likely to ask whatever we do not know even if it sounds so basic. This is because we believe that others will have a similar problem before or now. These active asking behaviors help us to learn more and faster – there is no doubt that being active is beneficial when learning something. Thus, it shows that learning from those at a similar level is better than learning from those at a higher level.

It is truly disputable whether learning from friends or coworkers is better than learning from teachers or supervisors or it is the opposite. However, I believe that learning from those at a similar level is much more beneficial than learning from those at a higher level with the reasons mentioned in this article.