People learn things better from those at their own level—such as fellow

students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or

supervisors.

Some believe that people can learn things better from those at their own level. They cite the increased ease of communication between students and co-workers as reason to support their point. However, I strongly believe that people can learn better from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors. I will support my stand using the following reasons.

Firstly, supervisors or teachers have a complete and well-rounded understanding of their subject and hence can teach difficult topics in a clear and concise way. For example, In my second year of computer engineering, we had a subtopic on the ‘Pointers in C’ concept. I was unable to attend that lecture and hence did not understand this topic. I asked my friends to teach it to me but each one of them understood it differently and I was left even more confused. The next day, I asked my teacher about it and she explained it to me in such an easy way, that I still remember the concept years later. On the contrary, once in grade ten just before my midterm exam, I asked my friend to quickly explain to me the mnemonic for the first ten elements of the periodic table. He told me the mnemonic and I went and wrote the same in the exam. After the exam, my friend approached me and profusely apologized because he had unintentionally told me the wrong mnemonic. People the same age as ours are as prone to mistakes and blunders as we are. Our superiors are experienced and are less likely to be wrong. Thus, this example illustrates that it is advantageous to learn from our superiors like teachers and supervisors rather than our friends and co-workers.

Secondly, teachers and supervisors have the student's best interests at heart whenever they teach something. For instance, one of my grad school friends used to work part-time in the mornings and attend college in the afternoon. Because he would miss lectures in the morning, our teacher used to stay in college after hours and teach him those missed topics every day so that his education did not get hampered. She was not getting paid for the extra work she put in but she still did it. Owing to her, my friend came first in the examinations. In contrast, children who do not have the means to go to school or afford schooling, learn things from their friends and can get involved in unethical, dangerous circumstances. It is of paramount importance that children should be guided by experienced elders. Sometimes, similar-aged friends or co-workers might lead people towards actions that can prove dangerously detrimental to their mental and/ or physical health.

In conclusion, the issue of whether people understand things better from their friends and co-workers or teachers and supervisors, remains a complex one. Some argue that information can be remembered for a longer time if their friends or co-workers explain it to them using relatable examples. Nevertheless, I still contend that people can understand things better from their supervisors or teachers.