Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents

were children.

Some people argue that life was easier and more comfortable when their grandparents were children than what their lives are now. They cite the absence of mobile phones and computers that increased familial bonding to support their point. However, I strongly believe that life today is much easier to live through comfortably than what our grandparents had as children.

First of all, the advancement of technology has made the world come closer to us. For instance, when I was studying engineering in the United States, I would reach out to my family members back in India through video calls and text messages. This was a great source of comfort to me and helped me through bouts of homesickness that international students often feel. On the other hand, when our grandparents went someplace away from their families when they were children, there were no mobile phones or the internet for them to contact their parents. They had to wait days to receive letters from their loved ones. This example illustrates how easy our life has become because of the improvement in technology.

Secondly, in recent years, medical science has improved by leaps and bounds, again, with the help of technology. Almost all diseases and ailments are now treatable without the fear of loss of life. For instance, last year, my grandfather, who is 76 years old, fell down a flight of stairs and injured his spinal cord. He was rushed to the hospital and after some surgeries and extensive physiotherapy, now he has completely recovered and even goes for runs in the park. If something like this had happened to any older person in the years when my grandfather was a child, there might not have been much that the doctors could have done because of the lack of highly precise medical instruments like the MRI and CT scan. This example succinctly points out the advantages of comfortable living in the twenty-first century.

The issue of whether life when our grandparents were children versus life today, is easier and more comfortable, remains a complex one. Some people could argue that our grandparents as children used to play in the fields with other children instead of being glued to the screens like today’s children are, and thus led an active life. Nevertheless, I still contend that life today is easier and more comfortable, especially because of the advent of technology and science.