Do you agree or disagree?

A person should never make an important decision alone

Some people argue that a person should rely only on himself to make important decisions and choices that affect him. They believe that the only person who knows himself better is not the family members or friends, but himself. However, I disagree with these people and completely agree with the prompt that people should never make important decisions alone. I will support my viewpoint using the following two reasons.

Firstly, when people give their opinions on something, they talk from their experiences and this helps you make an informed choice on the matter. For example, I had received university admits from California State University as well as Boston College when I was applying for a Masters in Computer Science, and I was confused as to which college to select. This was an important decision that would affect my future. I reached out to alums from both universities and asked their take on this situation. Both the alums gave me precious insights into what each college has to offer and the geographical advantages of each university. In the end, I was able to choose a university that was in line with my priorities. The alums’ insights helped me understand what I would gain and lose if I chose any of those universities. This proved to be beneficial for me as I knew what I was getting myself into. Hence, consulting people who have already taken a decision that you are about to take is advantageous as it helps you understand the consequences of your choice better and make an informed decision.

Secondly, when we ask people about their take on something, we interact with them and make them a part of our decision-making process. This networking with like-minded individuals and experts paves way for future opportunities. For instance, in 2006, I was working as a software developer and I wanted to venture into Product management. I was unsure of my decision to leave a well-paying job and look for opportunities in another sector without a job in hand. I approached my manager to get his opinion on this. He suggested I talk to his product manager friends and helped me connect with them. After talking with them, I was sure of my path ahead. One of the experts I connected with offered me a product manager job based on my skills. I understood then that talking with people before making important decisions can open doors that were previously impossible. This example succinctly illustrates the importance of making a decision only after consulting experienced people.

In conclusion, the issue of whether a person should take important decisions alone or by consulting others, remains a complex one. Some people argue that important decisions about oneself should not be influenced by what others think of them. Nevertheless, I still contend that it is beneficial to make important decisions by consulting other people.