Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer:

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave

Some people argue that movies, television and other media have significant drawbacks on how young people behave. They cite violence and overly sexual nature of these media to support their point. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that movies and television provide far more advantages for young people. I will support my viewpoint with two reasons.

First of all, movies and television positively impact the actions of young children because many of these films deliver positive messages to the audience. For example, it is common now for television shows to demonstrate that bullying is not the correct course of action for children at school. In the past, before these media were available, children would not have been able to learn about the negative effects of bullying and other bad behaviors and thus they participated in them more frequently. It is important for children to be exposed to these positive messages because they able to be influenced at such a young age. Their brains are still developing and it is important that they see positive reinforcement of behaviors as often as possible. Thus, media and tv have actually been beneficial for children.

Secondly, movies and television play an important part in shaping the younger generation by inspiring them. For instance, now a days, there has been an increase in the premiering of films and tv shows based on real life stories of people. Biopics of artists, athletes, war heroes and scientists stimulate young minds and motivate them to follow in the protagonists’ footsteps. Previously, films and television shows depicting violence did not inspire children to better their lives or achieve their goals. It is of paramount importance that young minds be exposed to motivational films and tv shows to help shape a brighter future for themselves and the nation. Hence, this is another reason how movies and television have shaped young people’s minds for the better.

In conclusion, the issue of whether should be able to watch significant amounts of television and movies is complex. Some have suggested that their viewing times be reduced because the media negatively affects their behavior. Nevertheless, I still contend that tv and movies are advantageous for children and that they have wholly encouraging effect on their behavior.