The following appeared in a health magazine. "The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author of the article published in a health magazine concludes that the citizens of Forsythe have embraced a healthier lifestyle by citing survey results regarding their eating habits and the apparent multifold increase in the sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that markedly reduces cholesterol levels and decrease in sales of a food product called sulia which is consumed by few of healthiest citizens. However, the author supports his argument with three assumptions that if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author contends that in a recently conducted survey, eating habits of most responders followed the government nutritional guidelines, than they did ten years ago. But the author fails to produce evidence that the people who responded to a similar survey ten years ago are the same people who have answered this recently conducted survey. Since the survey does not provide information about the number of people surveyed, perhaps, only healthy citizens took part in it. Additionally, It is possible that ten years ago, Forsythe had a much larger population of older people and a smaller segment of health conscious young generation that skewed the survey results. If either of these scenarios is true then the author’s presumption that the recent survey supports his claim of citizens adopting healthier lifestyles, does not hold water. If the author provides proof that the people who were surveyed ten years ago are the same people surveyed recently, that the sample of recent survey includes citizens of all age groups and health conditions, and if the survey conducted ten years ago indeed comprised of a sample with equal older and younger population, only then can author’s contention be considered valid.

Secondly, the author assumes that the quadrupled sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that is proven to reduce cholesterol, supports his claim of people taking healthy food decisions. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, Forsythe is the only town that has had a greater yield of kiran than neighboring towns and hence is supplying kiran in large quantities out of town, thus increasing sales in Forsythe. It is also possible that the town’s citizens have shown a propensity towards consuming more junk food that contains traces of kiran in it. This would explain the much increased sales of kiran. Moreover, the author has provided no evidence that the citizens who responded to the survey are the same people making healthier food choices by buying products having high quantities of kiran. If either of these cases is in accordance with reality, the author’s assumption that citizens are adopting healthier lifestyle by including food products having kiran, is dubious at best and specious at worst.

Finally, the author’s claim that the reduced sales of sulia indicate that citizens have embraced healthier lifestyles might not be true at all. According to the author, sulia is food product which was eaten by few of the healthiest citizens of Forsythe. If sulia was consumed by healthy people to maintain their vitality, then the reduction in sales of sulia suggest that people are now moving towards an unhealthy lifestyle, thus contradicting the author’s claim. It is likely that the quality of sulia sold has taken a recent nosedive and that’s why people are not buying it anymore. Perhaps healthy people were consuming sulia for its health benefits but stopped buying it since it had an unappealing taste and could take no more of it. If any of these scenarios are true, then the author’s claim is unwarranted and lacks substantial evidence.

In conclusion, it is possible that citizens of Forsythe are having high cholesterol levels and to control it, they are buying food products having high quantities of kiran. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unsubstantiated claims that render its conclusion highly unpersuasive. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence regarding accuracy of survey, specific reason for the increase in sales of food products consisting of kiran, and reasoning behind decreased sales of sulia.