The administrators of a university are revising their budget and have decided to change their funding priorities. As a result, the university will now spend more money on sports and athletic facilities than they do on the campus libraries. Do you think this is a good idea? Why or why not?

Some people argue that campus libraries should be modernized with computers having applications that will help students and faculty locate a wide array of books catering to their interests, easily and that’s why university should allocate more funds to library. They cite the reason that students cannot find books easily to support their argument. However, I contend that it is a good idea to spend money on providing facilities to improve the sports and athletics department of the university. I will support my argument using the following two reasons.

First of all, improving sports and athletics facilities will provide the athletes with better quality equipment which in turn will help them master their skills. For instance, when I was in school in eighth grade, a new badminton court was installed near our school premises. I started playing there every day and found that I liked playing badminton and was naturally skilled at it. My sports coach in school, recognizing my talent, helped me train better and I was able to win a state-level badminton competition. It is because I trained and mastered my skills on the school badminton court, that I could win that competition.

Secondly, having better sports facilities will encourage students to participate in sports more and they will become healthier, mentally as well as physically. It is easy to get swamped in studies and not look after our own health. For example, one of my friends who was a Ph.D. candidate at university would always be working in the lab day and night to complete his thesis. In the third year of his degree, one day, he collapsed while in the laboratory. He was rushed to the hospital and was diagnosed with acute depression and had become physically weak. This incident was a wake-up call for him after which he started working out religiously using the university sports facilities. This example illustrates the importance of having sports and athletics facilities for students.

In conclusion, the issue of whether allocating more funds to the sports department than the campus library is a good decision is a complex one. Some might argue that the percentage of students who use the sports facilities is less compared to the number of students who use the campus library on a daily basis. Nevertheless, I still contend that it is a good idea to allocate more funds to the sports and athletics facilities.