The administrators of a university are revising their budget and have decided to

change their funding priorities. As a result, the university will now spend more money on sports

and athletic facilities than they do on the campus libraries. Do you think this is a good idea?

Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position

Nowadays, the world has placed a premium on knowledge and skills one can obtain from higher education and joining a various array of activities. Although a multitude of people and academics advocate sports’ activities should be cancelled in exchange for more academic programs, others hold opposite perspective. I profoundly subscribe to this consensus that claims more budget should be dedicated to extracurricular activities such as sport. There are several reasons, two of which will be explained in the ensuing essay.

The first reason I should mention is that to keep abreast of 21st century, it is of paramount importance that students take in a collection of skills within a time frame. To be more specific, pupils are required to possess a wide range of skills, ranging from those learn in their own major, to those in another relevant subjects. Moreover, in the modern world the current employee has shown a tendency to recruit students who are able to do an array of jobs. Learners who dabble in a degree of skills will be employed in higher positions. In addition, learning new skills makes them both more creative and more active. Students playing a number of sports, as well as studying hard will be far much successful in the future. As a result, not only does it make them versatile, but it also helps them to match the needs of fast-changing and competitive society.

Another noteworthy and exquisite reason that I could add is that universities which are able to spend money on a wide range of activities are more popular than others among people. Some education systems failed to provide necessary facilities students need. While private universities outperform public universities based on their flexible programs and excellent extracurricular activities. Additionally, private universities are associated with quality facilities, professional teaching staffs, and excellent facilities. For instance, because of the high tuition fees, they are able to spend large amount of money on providing latest equipment for their gyms. It is critically importance, for qualification seekers are required to play sports alongside their studying. In order to have a healthier society, faculties are obliged to care about students’ both mental and physical health. Consequently, university staff should dedicate a budget for sports, besides improving libraries’ conditions.

To sum up, I am of approval of spending money on bettering the sport facilities, since students should acquire a collection of skills. Also, universities providing excellent facilities are more popular among people for pursuing education.