Imagine that the administrators of a university are revising their budget and have decided to change their funding priorities. As a result, the university will now spend more money on sports and athletic facilities than they do on the campus libraries. Would you support this idea? Why or why not?

It is extremely difficult for the university to decide how to spend its funds. In my opinion, the university should spend more money on sports and athletic facilities than on libraries. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in following essay.

To begin with, developments in athletic facilities and a university’s interest in sports like extracurricular activities can attract new students for admission. Many universities place more emphasis on academic programmes than sports activities. Nowadays, students want to admitted to a college or school that has more extracurricular activities and facilities. Sports activities encourage to student who average in academics, but show interest in sports. For example, my cousin is an average academic student who excels in sports. His new college provides facilities for sports. He like football game, so he joined the football team at his college. Also, his college encourages students to participate state-level matches. For this reason, sport facilities attract students to this college.

In addition, sports facilities are more profitable than libraries. Students participate in state-level and country-level games. A sports festival held at a university attract people to visit as spectators. Indeed, these games wining prizes and visiting fees profits to university’s fund. Because of the profit, they can used to be funding other facility development. For example, my college sports profits are used in clinical laboratory equipments updated. These profits really help to our physiology and biochemistry laboratory instruments updated new ones. It is certainly clear to see how sports facilities indirectly develop other facilities in the university.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the university should decide to spend money on sports facilities rather than the library. This is because sports facilities attract new students for admission to university and make profits from games.