“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.”

A nation's progress can be evaluated by taking into account the percentage of the literate and educated population residing in that country. The author's recommendation of having all the students of a nation study the same national curriculum until entering college should be considered only after taking into account the following points.

A singular curriculum throughout the nation for all the students is a far-fetched and idealistic recommendation because firstly, it means that all students irrespective of their individual interests have to study the same subjects through the same learning pattern. This prevents children from pursuing their personal interests. Let's consider the example of Indian cricket champion Sachin Tendulkar. It is a well-known fact that Sachin Tendulkar failed his 10th board exam on the first attempt but got selected on the National Cricket Team soon after. If he would have had to learn the same curriculum without giving time to practicing cricket, he would not have become the talented cricket player that we know.

Secondly, the author states that 'all students' should have to take the same curriculum but does not take into account the students with disabilities and students having higher IQ. These students may for the most part find the singular curriculum restricting and hence would fall behind. Students with high IQ might find the curriculum boring and would not be challenged enough. Students with learning or physical disabilities might find the curriculum challenging and fall well behind their peers.

Finally, the author's recommendation holds water in the reasoning that all the students having the same curriculum throughout school years until college will level the educational playing field thus limiting undue advantages to students and giving greater chance at success in future, all the other realistic points stated above have to be considered before author's recommendation is considered for implementatio.