14. Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

The claim presented contends that it is superfluous to have knowledge of the past while making decisions in the present because the world we live in today is much more complex than what it was. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this claim, and argue that it is indeed of extreme importance to accrue knowledge about the past to make cogent decisions for two reasons.

To begin, there have been major technological advancements in the 21st century. Consequently, the world we live in today has become exceedingly complex than the one our ancestors lived in. However, these developments have only become possible by learning from the fallacies of past developments. The progress in the fields of Artificial Intelligence, robotics, Cyber security , et al have been possible by learning from the past findings and scientific experiments.

Data scientists, machine learning experts, economists also traders use prediction analysis techniques to predict the future gains and losses to the company as well as the stock market. Such analysis is possible only by assessing the past trends. For instance, gaining knowledge about the Great Recession of 2007 that lasted through 2009 and by identifying its causes, economists can now look for signs in the current economy that might snowball into causing another recession in the future, and pre-emptively act to prevent it. The above examples, illustrate the need for historical knowledge for taking sound important decisions in the present.

In contrast to the arguments stated above, it is true up to a certain extent that having knowledge about the past does not always aid today’s decision making process. For instance, the learnings of a President who, in his term, had to combat terrorism more than the economical fluctuations of the country, are not going to be of much help to his successor who is battling a serious economic crisis. However, this does not mean that having knowledge about the different tactics to counter terrorism will not be useful in the future. Having knowledge about the past is always beneficial because only if we are familiar with the past can we better prepare ourselves for the future.

In conclusion, for evolution and progress to take place, it is important to learn from the mistakes of the past. Past knowledge helps us not make the same mistakes again and gives a definite direction of advancement.